matthias-jordan-EnC09G-ICbU-unsplash_edi
Coaching/Sparring with Gabriele

"A ship in port is safe,

but that's not what ships are built for."  
- William Shedd

Enabling the full release of human potential!

There is more to be seen,  discovered and appreciated in everyone of us.

Initiating and supporting an agile and digital leadership culture has been complex and undoubtedly challenging for everyone involved. Expectations from various stakeholders need to be considered, different ideas about strategies and paths taken need to be listened to, discussed and evaluated. At the end of the day, you as the head of the team or the leader of the company have to make the final decision which road to take. No matter which position you are in, you have to anticipate the effects of any decision on to the entire organization. Finding consensus instead of making compromises is the goal. Thus, it is important to encourage your people to develop an entrepreneurial mindset in order to help them to take responsibility of their action.

Breaking new ground, putting strategies and processes to test, maneuvering through transformation and/or reflecting on a more successful management style will be easier using the support of a sparring partner. Developing tailor-made solutions will be faster,  based on broad experiences and accumulated know how.

Our cooperation will support you...

... while performing your daily management and leadership tasks (e.g. shadowing)

... when getting promoted into a new management role with higher responsibility (e.g. more employees, additional divisions, new cultures, new countries etc.) 

... mastering individual transformation situations for yourself or your people (e.g. a termination)

... initiating and implementing a new mindset in the company (e.g. New Work)

... during significant change processes in traditionally managed companies

Starting with analysing the status quo, we will be targeting to find the best solution. We will be discovering resources, potentials and strengths, and also will be working on significant development areas. An optimistic and confident view of the world – no matter what -  has always been the basis of my executive coaching and sparring.  Challenges will be approached fearlessly. Facing facts, evaluating circumstances and interaction with others, and transparent communication will be key. 

The most important step will be taken in the beginning: When the client has understood the issue comprehensively, the solution is mostly obvious. These are the good news. It is my job to support you in this discovery process with feedback, tips, hints, enabling changes of perspective and tailor-made techniques... because everyone is special, has a different background and acts differently.

Coaching examples

Executive Sparring/Coaching:
Using HOGAN-Management Assessments, we evaluated and discussed his potentials/strengths and development areas as a Manager and Executive. In our weekly sessions we focused on: "Interpersonal Skills", "Intercultural Leadership" and "Influencing across Organizations" using research data, business cases, human psychology and behaviour, and focused specifically on „Communication Skills“ for different cultures.

 

Within six months our defined goals were achieved:

  • Managers from different cultures have been connected as a team.

  • Individual resources and talents from different countries and backgrounds were involved in the entire change process.

  • A strategic and operational realignment of marketing and sales has been established in the US organization.
     

His empathic, confident and sustainable communication approach has become visible week by week. After six months, he successfully took over the responsibility as CEO of the US organization.

Sparring Partner for the CEO Latin America

Industry: Manufacturing & Engineering

Topic: Taking over the additional leadership role as CEO of the US division. 

Questions:

  • How can the CEO successfully bring together and realign managers and executives from different countries and cultures (work style, strategy preferences and communication styles)?

  • How can the CEO develop and implement strategic changes and new thinking carried by the entire organization? 

Executive Coaching:

Intensive feedback on status quo of her professional career; use of management assessment tools for her individual management profile as well as self- and external assessments as a manager; subsequent development of objectives and career strategy; corresponding CV revision (STAR technique); social media optimization; interview training; advice on dealing with headhunters; consulting for efficient online job search.

During our coaching sessions, she quickly gained clarity about her specific goals, companies that could match to her profile and she is interested in and would suit her regarding new career opportunities. 

The consulting period had been three months. For each interesting job position she applied for using her new CV documents, she received an invitation for an interview. In addition, she had been enabled to strategically position herself for further career steps at her current employer.

Career Coaching for the Head of Marketing in Germany

Industry: Consumer Goods


Topic: What are the next career steps and where are her most successful career opportunities? 

Executive Coaching:

Analysis of the termination story; feedback on his professional career and its value for companies in Germany; intensive discussions about different management styles and communication cultures abroad and compared to Germany; definition of goals for his next career steps, potential companies and countries; development of a career strategy; CV revision (STAR technique); social media optimization; interview training (telephone, online, on location); networking with head hunters; advice on job search on online platforms in Germany and abroad.

 

The consulting period lasted twelve months until he signed a contract as COO in a new company in Brazil.

Outplacement/New Placement-Coaching for an international COO

Industry: Manufacturing & Engineering
 

Topic: The COO had been a longterm manager and executive for a major German corporation in Germany and abroad. When he returned from his last assignment in Asia back to Germany, he was terminated unexpectedly.

matthias-jordan-EnC09G-ICbU-unsplash_edi
Coaching/Sparring mit Gabriele

Ein Schiff, das im Hafen liegt, ist sicher. 
Doch dafür werden Schiffe nicht gebaut."
- William Shedd

Enabling the full release of human potential!

Es gibt bei jeder Führungskraft mehr zu sehen, zu entdecken und wert zu schätzen.
Eine agile und digitale Führungskultur in Unternehmen zu initiieren und zu begleiten, ist komplex und ohne Zweifel herausfordernd. Unterschiedliche Vorstellungen darüber, welche Wege gegangen werden können und was am besten funktioniert, gilt es zu hören, zu diskutieren und zu evaluieren. 
Am Ende des Tages treffen Sie dann die Entscheidungen. Das wird von Ihnen erwartet, denn Sie sehen die Wirkung auf die gesamte Organisation und nicht nur auf Teilbereiche oder Fach-Abteilungen. Konsens zu finden statt Kompromisse zu schließen ist das Ziel.

Deshalb ist es Ihre Aufgabe als Führungskraft, eigenverantwortliches Handeln zu fördern und einzufordern.

Ein unternehmerisches Mindset ist für Führungskräfte aller Stufen und Executives das Gebot der Stunde.

Neue Wege gehen, Strategien und Prozesse auf den Prüfstand stellen und einen angemessenen Führungsstil reflektieren, ist in der Tat gewinnbringend zusammen mit einem erfahrenen Sparringspartner.

Ich kenne die Herausforderungen als Manager mit Organisations- und Mitarbeiterverantwortung und in verschiedenen Ländern aus eigener Erfahrung.

Die Zusammenarbeit mit mir als
Sparringspartner und Executive Coach bietet sich an...

.... als Begleitung in der laufenden Führungsaufgabe (z.B. Shadowing)

... um neues Denken im Unternehmen zu initiieren und mit positiver Wirkung umzusetzen (z.B. New Work)

... als Begleitung bei Veränderungsprozessen in klassisch traditionell geführten Unternehmen

... beim Wechsel in eine neue Führungsrolle mit mehr Verantwortung (z.B. mehr Mitarbeiter, zusätzliche Unternehmensfelder, neue Länder)

... wenn es gilt, persönliche, intensive Veränderungssituationen zu meistern (z.B. eine Kündigung)     

Von der Analyse des Status Quo bis zur Entwicklung von Lösungen setze ich mit meiner Erfahrung auf den Aufbau/Ausbau von Ressourcen, der Entdeckung von Potentialen und Stärken sowie die Bearbeitung von Entwicklungsfeldern. Ein optimistisches und von Zuversicht geprägtes Welt-und Menschenbild ist mein Coaching-Verständnis. Transparente Kommunikation und offenes Feedback meine Arbeitsweise. Sie sollen unerschrocken die Herausforderungen angehen, mit denen Sie konfrontiert werden. Sie sollen so wenig wie möglich verurteilen, sich den Fakten und Tatsachen stellen und effektiv kommunizieren. Bewährte Methoden, die Führungskräfte gerade in schwierigen Zeiten wirklich wertschätzen. 

Der entscheidende Schritt im Sparring/Executive Coaching wird übrigens bereits zu Beginn gemacht: Wenn der Klient das Problem umfassend und in der Tiefe verstanden hat, liegt die Lösung meistens sofort auf der Hand. Das sind die guten Nachrichten. Meine Aufgabe ist es, Sie genau dabei zu unterstützen und Sie bei der Umsetzung zu begleiten mit Feedback, Tipps, Hinweisen, Perspektivenwechseln und maßgeschneiderten Techniken...denn jeder Mensch, jede Führungskraft und Executive ist und denkt anders.

Coaching-Beispiele

Executive Sparring/Coaching:
Mittels HOGAN-Management Assessment evaluierten und diskutierten wir zuerst seine Potenziale und Entwicklungsfelder als Manager. In den wöchentlichen Sessions legten wir dann den Fokus (Theorie und Praxis) auf: „Interpersonal Skills“, „Intercultural Leadership“ und „Influencing across Organizations“.

 

Innerhalb von sechs Monaten wurden die definierten Ziele erreicht:

  • Führungskräfte unterschiedlichster Kulturen verstehen sich als Team,

  • individuelle Ressourcen und Talente der Teams konnten für den Veränderungsprozess zum Einsatz gebracht werden,

  • eine strategische und operative Neu-Ausrichtung von Marketing und Vertrieb wurde in der US-Organisation etabliert.


Die Veränderung seiner Kommunikation wurde nach und nach positiv sichtbar. Er übernahm nach sechs Monaten zusätzlich die Gesamtverantwortung als CEO für die US-Organisation.

Sparring Partner für einen CEO Südamerika

Branche: Manufacturing & Engineering
 

Thema: Vorbereitung für die Übernahme als CEO der größeren US-Organisation.

Fragestellungen:

  • Wie kann der CEO die Führungskräfte unterschiedlichster Länder und Kulturen (Arbeitsstil, Strategie-Präferenzen und Kommunikationsstile) erfolgreich zusammenbringen und neu ausrichten?

  • Wie kann er notwendige, strategische Veränderungsprozesse und neues Denken in der Organisation bewirken?

Executive Coaching:
Intensive Diskussion und Feedback zum Status Quo der beruflichen Laufbahn; Einsatz von Management Assessment-Tools für das individuelle Managementprofil sowie die Selbst-und Fremdeinschätzung; anschließend Erarbeitung der Zielsetzung und Karrierestrategie; entsprechend CV-Überarbeitung (STAR Technik); Social Media Optimierung; Interviewtrainings; Umgang mit Personalberatern; Beratung für die optimale Job-Suche online.

Durch das Coaching erlangte die Klientin sehr schnell Klarheit über ihre Ziele, welche Unternehmen sie wirklich interessieren und auch zu ihr passen würden sowie ihre beruflichen Chancen.

Der Beratungszeitraum betrug drei Monate. Für jede interessante Job-Position, um die sie sich mit ihren neuen CV-Unterlagen bewarb, erhielt sie eine Einladung für ein persönliches Interview. Darüber hinaus konnte sie sich in ihrer aktuellen Tätigkeit bei dem jetzigen Arbeitgeber für weitere Karriereschritte strategisch klug positionieren.

Career Coaching für eine Marketing-Direktorin Deutschland

Branche: Konsumgüter


Thema: Welches sind die nächsten Karriereschritte und wo liegen die größten Karriere-Chancen?

Executive Coaching:
Aufarbeitung der - für den Kandidaten schwer nachvollziehbaren - Kündigungsgeschichte; Feedback zum Status Quo der bisherigen beruflichen Laufbahn und deren Wert für Unternehmen in Deutschland; intensive Diskussionen zu unterschiedlichen Führungsstilen und Kommunikations-Kulturen im Ausland und im Vergleich zu Deutschland; Definition der Zielsetzung für die nächsten Karriereschritte, potentielle Unternehmen und Länder; Entwicklung einer Karrierestrategie; CV-Überarbeitung (STAR Technik); Social Media Optimierung; Interviewtraining (Telefon, Online, Präsenz); Vernetzung/Umgang mit Personalberatern; Beratung Job-Search auf Online-Plattformen im In- und Ausland.      

 

Der Beratungszeitraum betrug zwölf Monate bis zur Unterschrift auf einem neuen Arbeitsvertrag als COO in einem Unternehmen in Brasilien.

Outplacement/New Placement-Coaching für einen internationalen COO

Branche: Manufacturing & Engineering
 

Thema: Nach langjähriger Tätigkeit im In-und Ausland für einen deutschen Großkonzern kehrte der Kandidat aus Asien zurück und wurde kurz danach überraschend gekündigt.